Pizza

Through accidental planning and good fortune I had pizza for dinner twice this week, bought pizza!. This was rather exciting the first night because it is such a novelty, and rather a surprise the second because I was out at a function. I’m probably more excited about this than I need to be- it is not as if my life is pizza free. My beloved happens to be exceptionally good at making a gluten free pizza base of his own recipe, and I’d take his over a bought one any day- regardless of topping. But on a more serious note, I thought this would be an excellent opportunity to compare the competing brands and their attempts at a gluten free base.

Dominos
First off, good on Dominos for having a go. Being more or less the every man’s pizza delivery outfit with (I’d be guessing) more stores than anyone else, just making this special diet item available deserves a cheer. The pizza wasn’t piping hot which unfortunately made the base a little less pizza base like and a little harder. To be fair, the base was quite thin so probably didn’t hold the heat terribly well, but I like a thin base. It wasn’t unpleasant, but due to the heat issue, it was a little bit chewy. Temperature aside, it was a gallant effort but coupled with the unpleasant phone call I had to make it get it which ended up in me ordering online anyway, I’m not sure how keen I am to go though with it again. I will come to your house and eat it, but you have to do the ordering. Oh, and while Margarita is ordinarily one of my favourite toppings, it relies on a good base… Just saying.

Hell
I remember the days when Hell was a small one store outfit running out of the old part of Club Kelburn squash club, where incidentally I learnt how to play squash. Ah, the memories. But now it has grown and become I believe, the popular choice amongst the youth (no doubt due to some clever marketing and a cool name). The pizza in this instance was also not piping hot although, unlike the above competitor, this didn’t matter as much. The base was still flexible and as above, it tasted like a real pizza base. You may even mistake the base for one with that annoying little protein. There was also more to the topping of the Hell pizza but then again there is more to the price as well (don’t kid yourself, it’s worth it). I don’t know how they do it, but they do it well.

One thought on “Pizza

  1. Pingback: Gig night at the Leigh Sawmill « Eating freakishly in NZ

Leave a Reply

