Leek and Mushroom Risotto

I feel pretty happy with myself about this one- my beloved doesn’t like leeks but liked this, and as for mushrooms, I personally think they are over rated but rated this dish highly!

For this original recipe, you’ll need:

4 tablespoons butter
1 leek, white part only, diced
5 gloves of garlic, finely chopped
1 cup arborio rice
1 cup chicken stock (I used home made)
4 cups water
2 cups chopped mushrooms
1/2 cup cheddar, grated

Heat half the butter in a large heavy based pot, and add 1/2 the garlic and the leek. Cook for a couple of minutes til the leek is soft. Add the rice and stir. After a further minute add the stock, and then the water 1/2 a cup at a time stirring well. Add another 1/2 cup when first lot is absorbed, stirring again. Repeat til the rice is cooked (taste a few grains, they should be firmly soft enough to enjoy but not soggy).

In the meantime, melt the rest of the butter in a frying pan over a low heat and add remaining garlic and the mushrooms. Stir often, and take off heat when the mushrooms are cooked, but still soft.

When both lots are done, add the mushrooms to the rice and mix really well. Add the cheddar, and top with freshly ground black pepper.

Given that I made up this recipe as I went along, I trust you to adjust the quantities to you own tastes. Let me know how it goes, and enjoy πŸ˜€

4 thoughts on “Leek and Mushroom Risotto

  1. FIVE cloves of garlic???? No wonder your beloved who does not like leeks enjoyed the dish. He was overpowered by the fumes….

    Oh, now I read the proviso…”Given that I made up this recipe as I went along, I trust you to adjust the quantities to you own tastes” Did you only have garlic left in the fridge? πŸ™‚

    • As long as both of us eat it there isn’t an issue and I would like to point out that we have successfully not been eaten by vampires recently πŸ˜‰

    • Righto, next time I have some bacon that isn’t already committed I will give it a go πŸ™‚ I like a good risotto.

      Speaking of, I wish I had brought it in for lunch today!

Leave a Reply

