American eating adventures Part 2

And thus begins part 2.

Our time on the East Coast included a night with a friend in Washington DC. It was very hot there, and because it is essentially built on a swamp it was also really humid. Luckily the Ethiopian restaurant that we went to Adams Morgan (one of the northern suburbs) was air conditoned. I was a bit nervous about it all, but took a rather cavalier attitude- the meals are brought out on a communal teff flour pancake, and I wasn’t sure about it but I ate it anyway. A quick internet search later and I found out that teff doesn’t have the a-giadin protein fraction that reacts gluten has and so is good for celiacs. I am happy to report that it also doesn’t irritate people with gastritis and I suffered no ill effects.

Unlike most other places we went in the States, Adams Morgan seemed to be filled with smaller non-chain stores. I realise this is probably both a reflection of where we as tourists went as well as the dominance of chain store in America, but it was refreshing. I bought some cereal at a tiny health food shop for the next morning and to take around the country with me. It was Bakery on Main brand, and it was a real find! I tried the Cranberry Orange Cashew Granola because I figured that I love cashews and cranberries and that was good enough for me. It was so good that on our way out of town the net morning I went and bought another packet of a different flavour and ate it all the way through New England finishing it California. I tried a different flavour for packet number 2, Rainforest Granola. On reflection I should have stuck with Cranberry Orange for round 2 as well- I am not a huge fan of Brasil nuts and there were a lot in here. Also, I assumed that dried bananas were the same worldwide, but not so. The ones in the Rainforest Granola were soft and most bananary in taste, and very unlike what you would find in NZ muesli. It took a couple of breakfasts o get used to, but I think I liked them and if it as the only choiceI would definitely buy that one again.

New England was a treat, a genuine and real treat. Through work we have met a lot of people from New Hampshire and so it was great to go see it for ourselves. The first thing that struck me was how green it is. New Hampshireites do go on abut NZ being green but the state is full of trees. Also, it is a very old place – we stayed at the Three Chimneys Inn and the first building was in 1649. That building is older than my country. Wow! We had dinner at the ffrost Sawyer tavern downstairs at there were multiple gluten free options with no nachos in sight! Pad thai, potato encrusted haddock, poached salmon, steamed lobster, and even a crème brulee for dessert. I had the pad thai and the crème brulee and both were quite excellent. I can’t fault the service either, the wait staff were top notch. Our other night staying in Durham we went out to dinner at the flatbread place in Porstmouth. Yes, flatbread, a fancy pizza – not where you would necessarily assume gluten friendly food lay… but wrong! Not only did they have a gluten free base, but they also advised on which toppings had gluten. Yay for them. It was humming too, everyone wanted a slice 😉

Our next stop was up in the White Mountains where we had a date on the Appalachian trail at Carter Notch Hut. Knowing we needed some lunch on the way we stopped at a small supermarket in Conway- thumbs down! No gluten free bread, and 1 single packet of rice crackers – which were stale. We thought we were slightly closer to the wilderness than we actually were, so we made do although North Conway was bigger, and the cafe we chose at random had good coffee AND both savory and sweet gluten free muffins. I got one of each 🙂 Carters Notch is a catered hut, and far out the food is good. The only no-no for me was the fresh baked bread. In the morning fresh pancakes and yes, they make gluten free ones. The walk we did was a short one,only 3.6 miles from the closest carpark. It is straight up though, and the trail was a bit rougher than we had expected. New Hampshire is “The Granite State” and rather than remove the boulders there are parts where you have to climb over them. We took the scenic route over the high point at Carter Dome – and it was pretty hard work – worth it despite the clouds.

 

 

2 thoughts on “American eating adventures Part 2

    • That little store in Washington was the only place I found them, and I was keeping an eye out after that. They were good, and maybe they’ll pop up unexpectedly somewhere. I am led to believe that happens sometimes 😉

Leave a Reply

