Nicole’s chicken fingers – repost

It’s the beginning of our semester where I work – 26 fresh and bright students to spend the next months with. Needless to say, it’s been a bit hectic and this inevidably overflows into home time. I wanted a quick dinner* and remembered about both the chicken in my freezer and this recipe from Gluten Free on a Shoestring.

Chicken Fingers

6 chicken thighs (or 2 breasts)
30g butter, melted (more if needed)
2 cups gluten-free cornflakes (crushed)
salt, pepper to taste

1. Cut chiken into strips and dip first in melted butter, and then in cornflak/spice mix.
2. Lay on non-stick or lightly greased baking tray.
3. Bake for 12-15 mins at 200 deg cel.

Nicole wrote this recipe for her kids and I am yet to try this out recipe out on any kids, but my beloved and I think it’s great. I also add generous doses of smoked paprika, and served them with roasted beetroot and baby onions (chopped roughly, drizzled in olive oil and baked for 30 mins), home grown corn and Mel’s Tangy Tamarind Chutney for dipping. I must remember this recipe more often!

* Headwind not permitting! I had run out cornflakes so detoured to our dairy adding an extra 3km of headwind to my cycle home.

Leave a Reply

