Peanut butter milkshake

Yes, I thought it was weird too. One of my students was talking about a great pizza place in Ann Arbor, Michigan, where they like to hang out between classes (when they are not on a semester abroad, obviously!). She said her favourite was a peanut butter milkshake. “Ew” I said, to which she replied “Don’t knock it til you try it”. Well, I have and I’m converted. I found it on the menu at the Driving Creek Railway cafe in Coromandel town and thought I really ought to. As I said, converted. It is one of the cafe’s ice cream based smoothies, the ice cream takes away from what could potentially be an overwhelmingly nutty drink. I did a bit of experimenting at home to come up with what I think is a passable version for between visits: combine 1 banana, 1 generous desert spoon of crunchy peanut butter (I love and used Pic’s organic here), 2 small scoops of vanilla ice cream and top up to 800 mills with milk and whizzed til combined. Yes, it sounds crazy but trust me on this.

Oh and because this is a blog about gluten free eating, I am happy to report that the gluten free jaffa friand was also a winner and I look forward to trying something from their gluten free menu next time. It seemed they were happy to cater to any and all dietary requirements. That’s one reason more to love the Coromandel đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

